Back to Top

Volunteer at a Spiritual and Artist's Ashram in a multi-ethnic small town in Central India

World, Asia, India, Bhilai



Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

This is a small Ashram for artists and spiritual seekers and a cultural research centre.

You are welcome to share your cultural details and artistic talent or any other skill with our few music students and other local friends and people from the town.

You can take a free workshop for the local children and residents on any form of arts, spirituality, music, cooking healthy meals, sharing your travel experience, your life back home telling about your education and work experience there, your future plans off-maintream or any other skills/knowledge that can inspire young listeners to look for opportunities beyond conventional life choices.

You will have an opportunity to interact with locals of diverse ethnicity and understand their culture, issues they are facing at various levels, what is their definition of happiness and so on.

You can accompany us for few household shopping from a nearby market (300m) and helping in cooking if you want.

About the host

Shoeb (40)

Host since



English, Hindi

Fluent in both hindi and english.

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

We come from an artistic family background where my father has been a music teacher from more than 40 years in this town as well as 12 years in Kuwait. I am a mystic, musician and a writer who has travelled extensively in almost all states of India and visited few other countries as well in Europe (Denmark, England, Spain, Netherlands, Sweden) and Thailand learning and giving spiritual assistance. I have lived in Himalayas and Arunachala (Ramana Ashram) doing research in Raj yoga, Gyan yoga, Advaita Vedanta, Buddhism (Dzogchen) and Sufism while living at different ashrams and monasteries for five years.

A grade-5 certified classical guitarist and a Hindustani semi-classical singer. We have a Music school in Bhilai since past 40 years and a Music studio in Bollywood, Mumbai, from past 10 years.

Have been involved in giving spiritual assistance/guidance to spiritual seekers and artists from past 8 years along with teaching music from past 20 years.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • language practice
  • help in the house
  • teaching projects
  • maintenance tasks
  • elderly care
  • charity work
  • art projects
  • computer help
  • internet support
  • house sitting

Expected workhours

  • 3 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • bungalow

It's a double-storyed house with a small garden at the front and backyard in the ground floor where we stay, a family of three - Father, Mother and Myself, 35 year old male.

Top floor where you will be staying has a hall, two open rooms, a terrace and a balcony. Music classes happen in the hall twice for around one to two hours in morning and evening.

Indian toilet with attached bathroom.

Indian Food will be served three times.
Tea at 8am
Breakfast around 9.
Lunch around 1:30.
Dinner around 9.

You are free to lead cooking your own local meals and share it with our family of three.

  • shared meals

We prepare all meals. If you want you can help.

  • no money is involved