Back to Top

Welcome to enjoy creativity and nature in the middle of Sweden

World, Europe, Sweden, Söderbärke



Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 4 volunteers

We are a Dutch couple in our sixties, grey-haired but full of energy and creativity!
My name is Roswitha, I live together with Fridus and our three lovely dogs named Ylva, Rävi and Björne, two cats and some chickens.
We are living in the beautiful nature in Dalarna.
During 13 years we have had a hotel and restaurant here, but because we are getting older smile we sold the hotel after all this years of hard working.
Our life is calmer now, we still live on this place and we have a mix of a lot of different things we do. We run a small organic restaurant which is only sometimes open and we have a little secondhand / handcraft shop. We restore furniture to give things a second life, we repair things, we make craft (sewing, carpentering) and art (painting). We make jams and marmalades and bake bread and cookies.
We try to have an ecological and sustainable lifestyle.
You can help us with outside work like woodcutting, making firewood, grass mowing, weeding. In wintertime, snow blowing.
You can help by harvesting fruits in autumn, cooking marmalades and juices, baking cookies and bread.
You can walk or bicycle with the dogs.
We have always projects going on in the maintenance of the buildings and renovation of old windows.
You can help us by the repairing things to the secondhand shop.
You can learn to help with the craftwork we do, Roswitha makes baskets and decorates wooden objects and Fridus makes small wooden furniture of used wood.
We use to look what kind of work you like to do and what you want to learn of us. Then we make a plan together.
Some periods of the year we (November - December, and July - August) we have a lot work to do within the restaurant.

About the host

Roswitha (66)

Host since



Nederlands, English, German, Swedish

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

I am a Dutch woman but I am living about 20 years in Sweden I have two adult children and 3 grandchildren. I am living with my partner and our 3 dogs.
In Holland I was an art teacher (painting) and here in Sweden I have had a restaurant about 13 years. Creativity and fantasy are the most important things for me. Finding a soul and heart in everything you do.
I like to work and teach young people about the quality of working with your hands and creating nice things or creating good food.
I am an openminded flexible person. It is important for me that you feel at home, and that you like the things you can do here.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • animal care
  • art projects

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room, shared room, shared apartment

You will live in a room inside our house or in a caravan with electricity. We have shared bathroom inside the house.

  • shared meals

We will provide food for breakfast and lunch, and the evening meals we will have together

  • offering money for additional hours 

In case we need help with the Restaurant (when it is open), we can offer payment.
The period we can need that is mainly in the 6 weeks before Christmas.