Back to Top

Help us build a forest garden retreat in Andalucia

World, Europe, Spain, Benarrabá



Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 4 volunteers

Our project is located in a bird sanctuary surrounded by forest of cork oaks and many other types of trees, with running water all around. It’s an idyllic, peaceful place. The trees are amazing... The nearest (small) village is a twenty minute walk up the mountain from our valley. We are creating a forest garden and retreat/workshop space. There are lots of mature trees, vines and bushes onsite, including orange, mandarin, lemon, fig, apple, pear, quince, avocado, pomegranate, peach, apricot, kiwi, wineberry, grapes, cherry, sharon/persimmon and olive. There are also some edible mushrooms that grow wild on-site and in the surrounding area. We like to follow permaculture principles, to work with nature, help build the soil and maintain a habitat for wildlife. There are many kinds of insects, lizards, snakes, wild boar, badges, stoats, foxes and other animals in the area.

Our diet is vegan, except for occasional local eggs. We eat lots of fresh fruit (whatever is in season here) and veg. There is potential for foraging wild food onsite and in the surrounding area.

We have a solar electricity system, enough for all reasonable purposes - lights, device charging, power tools and kitchen appliances. We have two showers, one hot and one cold. We also have a washing machine. There is a large old stone water tank that makes an excellent dipping pool

There is currently one person permanently onsite (English, fluent in Spanish) and we normally have at least three volunteers. Interests include permaculture and sustainable living, massage, calisthenics strength training, philosophy/politics/science/economics, and improving Spanish language skills.

Please tell us about yourself in your response; why you would like to come and work with us, how long you’d like to stay (a range is fine), what relevant experience you have, and what you like to do with your free time. Include the phrase “plena naturaleza” in your subject line so I can be sure that you’ve read the profile. Thanks.

We are looking for someone to help us develop our forest garden over the next year - we have many trees, but would like to plant more edible shrubs and plants that will fit in with the existing ecosystem. If this sounds like a good fit to your skills and interests, please get in touch!

Our current (as of Spring 2019) infrastructure projects are to rebuild the showers and build a 7m wooden platform. Anyone with joinery/carpentry skills is therefore especially welcome at this time.

The other major area of ongoing work is on the land. This includes; clearing the site, maintaining fences, preparing firewood, irrigating, tree pruning, composting, mulching and gardening, so we are also very interested in people who wish to focus on this.

The routine activities here include; cooking, watering, tidying and generally supporting one another.

We are looking for volunteers that appreciate being in nature, and that genuinely enjoy a physically active lifestyle. The site is a 15 minute walk from the road along a steep mountain path, and you will probably walk at least a couple of kilometres a day just getting around the site.

We value open-mindedness, adaptability, the ability to question our entrenched beliefs, a problem-solving mindset, and clear, direct, non-violent communication (ala Marshall Rosenberg). There is a trial period of one week for all new volunteers.

Accommodation is in yurts with stoves, in your own tent on the land or possibly in the attic space of a building we have here if that is preferred.

About the host

Baltasara (39)

Host since



English, Greek, Spanish

Native English, reasonably fluent Spanish, and rusty Greek

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

Born and raised in London, I have worked primarily as a software developer, but most recently as a massage therapist. I currently live and work full-time on this project, with the support of my partners in this venture. I enjoy games, puzzles and riddles, doing calisthenics and basic gymnastics training, and discussing science/philosophy/politics/economics. I'm passionate about living in a way that is in accord with my primary values of efficiency and sustainability.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • language practice
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • no money is involved