Back to Top

Small farm needs help in house and garden

World, Oceania, New Zealand, Gisborne



Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

We own a small farm in the rural area of Gisborne. It is surrounded by 100 acres of pasture and a very quiet place. We are situated in the North Island - Eastland region.
In the winter months of June, July and August 2019 we need help to keep the house and garden clean and animals (dogs and cats) to be cared for with a lot of love.
Your work in the house will consist of: cleaning windows, mopping floors, vacuuming, cooking, cleaning the bathroom, tidying the shed, removing spider cob webs,...
Your animal care will be feeding cats and dogs, taking dogs for a long walk on the farm, keeping the dog area clean, grooming dogs.
Your work in the garden will consist of weeding (a lot), re-planting strawberries, organizing and replanting flowers, clearing NZ flaxes and flowers (ringa ringa), cutting dead branches off trees, mowing the huge lawn, removing old leaves.
Any artistic skills and excellent computer skills or IT specialist most welcome.

About the host



Host since



English, German, Italian

I speak English and German very well, a little bit of Italian too. My husband only speaks English.

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

I am Austrian and I would like to spend the winter, 3 months back home in Europe where it is summer. I have been living in NZ for 17 years; I am married to a New Zealander. We do not have children.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • gardening
  • help in the house
  • animal care
  • computer help
  • pet sitting

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 6 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • shared room

You will your own bed in the lounge, have WiFi, shared bathroom.

  • shared meals

  • no money is involved