Back to Top

Diary goat farm - need help to become visitor & goat-trekking centre

World, Europe, Bulgaria, Idilevo

APPLY NOW

Travel dates

overcast clouds
15.06°C

About the workproject

We need 4 volunteers

We are a family with four young children, three houses that we're renovating, and a herd of 60 dairy goats and 60 kid goats; also, cats, dogs and four horses. We need daily help with milking & feeding the diary goats, as well as with renovating the goat barns and the old stone houses that we own in our village. We also grow a few hectares of herbs (marigold, nettles, thyme) and cut many hectares of hay. Our vision - to turn the houses into guest accommodation with their own vegetable gardens; to turn the goat barns into a centre for visiting school-trips and guests to learn about ecology, local wildlife & farming, to try milking & yoghurt/cheese-making; to offer goat-trekking and orchid-hunting trips where guests pack a picnic onto a goat and walk together through the miles of forest and pasture land, learning about the local wildlife, including orchids, herbs, mushrooms and birds of prey. We also want to break our 2 young horses to riding and one to carriage - to offer horse rides, and carriage-rides to view the sunrise/sunset over the mountains.
We home-school our children in English & Bulgarian, so any help with home chores and schooling also appreciated!
We are a bilingual English/Bulgarian family, and my husband also speaks Dutch and a little Russian.

About the host

Juliette

Juliette (40)

Host since

2019

Languages

English, Nederlands

Last seen online

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • farming
  • language practice
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • eco projects
  • animal care

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • guest house

  • shared meals

You're welcome to eat with us, or self cater, as you prefer.

  • no money is involved

We offer accommodation, food and laundry in exchange for work. Plus milk, yoghurt, dairy products, your own vegetable plot (if you wish to grow one we'll provide seeds/seedlings and a rotorvator!), etc. We'll also be delighted to show you around some of the local areas of interest, at our expense. Those who are able to ride horses can do so, and those wanting t learn can have a go. There are tons of plum trees and other fruit trees growing around the village, for those who enjoy canning or jam making.