Back to Top

Biodynamic farm looking for helpers

World, Oceania, Australia, Peacock Creek

APPLY NOW

Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

Urgently need tradespeople and anyone with construction or fencing experience.

Come to our beautiful farm, and meet our kangaroos, wallabies amazing cockhatoos, colourful parrots and sweet little finches. There is an exciting and dynamic time to visit us and you will learn much.

We need help to plant trees, building housing for our animals, fencing, completing planting out an orchard and our olive grove and planting the vineyard.

,Our farm is an ex-dairy property and we are working hard to regenerate our soils and replant trees for shade, food, food trees for wildlife and to assist with carbon capture. We have 12 dairy cows and heifers, one beef cow and heifer 3 meat steers, three pigs and three piglets, sheep, a goat, ducks, guinea fowl and chickens, two ginger cats, plus our two dogs, our Maremma and our foxie.

We produce our own meat, milk, eggs and are about to start planting our vegetable area and berry fruit gardens.

We urgently need hard-working, enthusiastic helpers to assist us with our many projects, including, planting trees throughout the farm, to help build a milking dairy, animal shelters, raised vegetable areas, water infrastructure, soil regeneration, fencing and a million and one other challenging and interesting jobs.

If you are keen to learn, contribute and share the excitment we feel about our beautiful countryside and our precious farm with its animals and fauna, then please contact me for more details.

We were hosts at our previous property, in Queensland (see our reviews) so are experienced and friendly hosts. We are both good cooks and provide three good-quality meals a day. You are invited to eat with us and hopefully enjoy being a part of an Aussie family. Food is organic where possible and a mixed diet. We cook at least three vegetarian meals a week, usually three meat-based meals and love herbs and spices..

We work Monday to Friday and in summer months start early, at 6am and finish at around 11am, with 40 minutes for breakfast at around 9am. We take an afternoon break and restart for a couple of hours at 4pm. On Tuesdays we often go to the organic markets in Lismore and, depending on how long you are staying, you may have the option to work extra hours on other days to so you can visit the markets with us.

After work, and at weekends, your time is your own. You are free to explore this magical area with many walks direct from the farm, and really great swimming spots too.

We do ask that you help with shared chores (like keeping your room and shared areas tidy) and helping with meal preparation, if needed, and clearing away, but the rest of the time is yours to enjoy as you wish.

On the weekends we prefer that you take one day to explore independantly, to give us some free time. Other than that, you are free to stay here and have fun with the animals, or to visit other areas for the weekend if you prefer. And depending on farm pressures (since Graham and I work at least six days a week) we are happy to take you exploring, or invite you to come with us on our boat on the beautiful Clarence River.

Helpers must be responsible, non-smokers, no drugs, and no heavy drinking.

Please remember this is an exchange and we should all enjoy our time together. We provide comfortable accomodation and good, fresh, and where possible, organic food and in return we ask for six hours of productive work each day (except weekends). If you are staying for two weeks we will happily feed and accomodate you over the middle weekend.

Since this is a working farm, we ask that, where possible, you arrive on Sunday afternoon, that you leave on the Friday afternoon to give us time to get things done. Unless you are staying on of course.

Because we are quite remote we do like to have you stay at least five consequtive working days. Longer stays may be possible if we are all having fun and getting plenty done.

Come and join us for a happy, healthy, fun stay smile

About the host

Sharon & Graham

Host since

2019

Languages

English, French

We are a happily married couple, and are happy, social people who love to share our experience and knowledge.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done


Expected workhours

  • 6 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

Comfortable, clean and spacious room in the farmhouse, with double bed, large wardrobe and comfortable seating area and your own bathroom (not en-suite).

  • shared meals

We prepare all meals except at the weekend when you prepare your own breakfast and lunch.

  • no money is involved