Back to Top

The Haven Organic Farm

World, Oceania, Australia, Mullumbimby

APPLY NOW

Travel dates

°C, N/A

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

Come join us at The Haven Organic Farm in Mullumbimby. We’re a family of 3 on a beautiful 5 acre property surrounded by shady trees, productive gardens, hundreds of fruit trees and the Brunswick River that runs along the bottom of our land. Over the last 3 years, we’ve been building the farm from the ground up. We’ve made some awesome progress with the help of our volunteers and there’s more projects planned for the future.
If you’d like to learn about how to turn a patch of land into a productive food garden, we’d love you to join us. We practice permaculture principles and build healthy ecosystem around us. We minimise our inputs, by propagating our own vegetables and fruit onsite. We create our own ongoing healthy soil, using manures, compost and mulch we harvest onsite. Our soil gets better every year. We’re all about variety and have a healthy mix of fruit trees and a range of temperate, arid subtropical and tropical vegetables and herbs.

There’s always lots of projects on that you can get involved in including propagation, planting trees and vegies, harvesting food in our gardens and helping us to build new projects that will help us interact and give back to the wider community. With over 35 years of experience in horticulture and permaculture, Grant’s got lots of experience to share around. We’re always learning though and would love to learn from your experience too.

We welcome people of all ages, families and couples of all skill levels. We have comfortable accommodation available for 3 people and in exchange for your help you’ll also join us for delicious food that we’ll grow and cook together. We love to come along and discover this little haven.

Grant, Paula and Elvie.

About the host

Grant

Grant

Host since

2019

Languages

English, Spanish

Last seen online

Grant and Paula have been together for 15 years and have a daughter Elvia who is 5 years of age in March. Grant loves growing food with permaculture principals. Paula loves yoga, the garden and making fermented food from our garden and Elvia loves playing, playing and playing.

Project dates


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • farming
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • child care / au pair

Expected workhours

  • 4 hours a day
  • 6 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

  • shared meals

We make lunch and dinner together. You help yourself to breakfast.

  • no money is involved