Back to Top

Farm & Campsite needs help from April till October

World, Europe, Slovakia, Cerovo

APPLY NOW

Travel dates

°C, N/A

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

We have a 10 hectare farm in southern Slovakia, in a area called 'Lazy'. On our farm we keep sheep and goats (for cheese, yogurt, and milk), three ponies (for the campsite kids in the summer months), two pigs and some chickens. We have a large vegetable garden and an orchard. From May till September we run a small campsite where families can experience the wonderful life of living on a farm in beautiful rural Slovakia. It is a great place if you like nature, animals and people.

In April, May and June we have lambs and get ready for the camping season, help is needed with things like mowing grass, working in the vegetable garden, erecting tents and some construction work. Lot of work is farm work. Rather physical. However we will see together what need to be done and what you like to do.
In July and August you assist us with the campsite (mowing grass, horse riding with children, cooking, cleaning tents and sanitary building, face painting children, sport with kids) and some on the farm (bringing water to the animals, checking fences, weeding in the vegetable garden), it might also involve shopping in the towns around us (to get things for the campsite or farm) so if you can drive a car that will be very practical. Guest and helpers easily mix during the summer months, so enjoying interaction with families from all over Europe is a big plus in July and August.
In September and October the help can be on the farm including cleaning stables, or cutting wood or maintenance of our buildings (like painting).
We prefer couples in the Autumn and Spring since it is calm and quiet over here or people who do not mind solitude
Of course you can learn to milk a goat and you are welcome to experience different types of 'farm work' if you want to!

About the host

Bernadette

Host since

2019

Languages

German, English, French, Nederlands

Last seen online

We are an international family of three (Arnold, Bernadette and our daughter Katinka) which have settled after an international life in 2008 'in the middle of no-where' of beautiful Slovakia.

Project dates


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • farming
  • tourist support
  • hostel support

Expected workhours

  • 4 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • trailer / caravan

We have a private wagon for our helpers which is very suitable for a couple or two friends, or just one helper. The wagon has a small kitchen where you can cook.
Sanitary facilities are on the campsite and nice and clean. You can make a camp fire smile or join others who will certainly do.

  • shared meals

We share lunch and dinner, we cook in turns most time of the year. You make your own breakfast (with our products) and you decide how late you will have it smile If you rather like to cook and eat alone all products we produce on our farm (dairy, meat, vegetables when available) bread and basics are on our account. In Spring and Autumn we do prefer couples, it can be lonely here. We meet during the day and meals however during your time of you should be able to entertain yourself.

  • no money is involved