Back to Top

Walking and feeding 1 small & 1 medium size dogs on Vancouver Island

World, North America, Canada, Comox-strathcona c



Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

We have two dogs: one small and one medium sized. They require 2 hours of walking daily on forest trails. Both are leash trained. Two days/week you and the dogs will walk (off-leash) in a group with other dog walkers for 2 hours on forest trails.

We live in a coastal area with mountains less than an hour away and forest trails out the back door. Downhill and cross-country skiing close-by.

*Dog feeding & walking duties will be daily from approximately January 9, 2019 to February 4 inclusive;
and then February 8 to 27 inclusive.
*Accommodation provided for same period as above (approximately January 9 to February 4 inclusive; and then February 8 to 27 inclusive; i.e. the entire two periods of dog walking).
*House-sitting (in addition to the above dog walking) will be approximately January 13 to Feb. 3; and also Feb. 8 - 25th.

About the host



Host since



English, Spanish

Fluent in both languages

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

We have recently moved to the Comox Valley in retirement. Enjoying the outdoors, social and recreation opportunities, as well as Eldercollege at North Island College, it is perfect for us as we love to explore, have new adventures and continue learning.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • animal care
  • house sitting

Expected workhours

  • 3 hours a day
  • 7 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

When both house sitting & dog walking, you have one private bedroom, kitchen, living room, dining room and desk to yourself.
When dog walking but not house sitting (host is home during the few days in January and end of Feb.) you have one private bedroom and shared kitchen, living room and dining room.

  • self catering

  • no money is involved