Back to Top

Volunteer Caretaker Assistance on private Caribbean Island of Belize needed

World, Central America, Belize, Hopkins


Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

We need someone in good physical condition who feels confident living with us and Piggy, a free living, dominant non castrated pig, on a 4 acres small, private, remote island in simple environment. Frugal dealing with resources is required as electricity comes from solar system and drinking and using water from rain water harvest.

Currently we try to prepare the island for the upcoming north fronts and the next season and would need some help.
There are some light works like:
- moving some timber or seaweed
- cleaning the beaches and trails from plastic
- helping to snorkel for some logs
and some more heavy works to do like:
- giving a hand to build a fence and a seawall to prevent the erosion of the island, caused by north fronts and too high tides at this time of the year.

There is Internet and cellphone reception on the island.

In your spare time you could watch the stars, sunsets, dolphins and rays, explore the island, go snorkeling or fishing around the island, find meditation or yoga spots or just seize the end of the day.

Sorry, but we can only offer free accommodation and a hopefully unique stay on our little paradise island, as we are also only volunteers.
You had to cover your travel and provision costs.
All supplies you need, you have to bring from the mainland. We can pick you up with our sailboatwink There is no delivery service!

About the host

Virginia (45)

Host since



German, English, French

We are a 49 years old German artist couple, taking care of a free living pig on a little 1,5 ha small Caribbean island in Belize since 3 years. In Europe we used to organize and carry out big art projects in empty standing buildings for over 20 years. Since 10 years we have been house and pet sitting between our projects mostly in Portugal/Spain.
Currently I (STEPHAN) am alone on the boat and would need some company and supportwink

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • maintenance tasks

Expected workhours

  • 3 hours a day
  • 6 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private cottage

Accommodation for you is a little wooden beach hut with comfortable queen sized bed, kitchen corner with 2 burner gas stove and basic equipment, bucket shower and compost toilet.

  • self catering

  • no money is involved

HOST 1 of 2267