Back to Top

Unique charity garden in rural England

World, Europe, England, Calne

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

7°C, 16:52

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

INTRODUCTION: 
Welcome to our friendly haven! Situated in a traditional English village with lovely countryside our placement is suitable for male students 18 to 27yrs. Usual time spent with us is four to 10 weeks (but can be longer).

We have a relaxed, sympathetic, friendly and happy atmosphere. With a variety of work activities. And a mix of sporty & cultural facilities.

The unique 1/2 acre wildlife friendly garden comprises several different 'rooms' each with varied collections of plants. We are a Registered Charity which: has public open days; receives visiting groups; teaches horticulture & conservation; runs workshops, community projects, wildlife audits; and offers skill training for the young unemployed.

Our student volunteers help out 5 hours a day Monday-Friday only. All other time is your own for touristic, cultural, sporting activities. 

TUITION: No previous experience or skills are necessary as full tuition/training is given. But you will need a reasonable standard of spoken English.

Large LIBRARY: on wildlife, conservation, art, history, horticulture, heritage, mythology, landscape design, etc.

SPORTS etc: We have a fully equipped Gymnasium (twin weight stack/fixed weight multi-gym 3 seating position system + free weights etc) and a small Swimming Pool, and shower & changing room.
Good countryside for jogging (woods etc).
There is use of a bicycle.

SOCIALISING/LOCAL FACILITIES:
In the village there is:
post-office, general store, village hall, 2 pubs, church, golf resort, football field, woodcarving club. And opportunities to socialise via organisations and activities. And contacts via the friendly village pubs. And walks & visits and actvities with your host.

Chippenham (8minutes by bus) has: 
2 night clubs; lots of pubs; good range of shops and sports facilities. 
Calne (2 minutes by bus) has: skateboard/bmx park; good restaurants; motor museum.
Aveburyhenge: prehistoric world heritage sites are 30 minutes by bus.

About the host

Stephen (60)

Host since

2018

Languages

English

Last seen online

3 Months ago

 I was a professional painter/sculptor; art & history teacher; interior designer. Now I write & teach on wildlife, conservation, history. I have a passion for Nature and the rural landscape- and gardening! I am also an expert on English history/ heritage/customs etc so can be your guide during excursions.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • tourist support
  • eco projects
  • charity work
  • art projects

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

Sleep on large sofa bed in the guest bedroom/library with privacy at night. (Or use the large fully equipped garden Studyhouse in the summer if preferred).
Wifi.

  • shared meals

Simple 3 meals a day: breakfast (cereal); lunch (sandwiches & yoghurt); evening meal (salads or cooked, often pasta. Vegetarian household.

  • no money is involved