Back to Top

Restoration of chestnut grove & ancient barn

World, Europe, Italy, Castiglione di Garfagnana

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

-2°C, 22:15

About the workproject

We need 4 volunteers

September and October 2018: Help needed to work in forest camping area raking leaves, planting trees, welcoming airbnb guests, and full restoration of seventeenth century hay barn in the forest.

We work for four hours each morning from 9:00 to 13:00 in a stressfree environment, the rest of the time is yours to enjoy the mountains, scenery, walking & nearby villages. Artists, carpenters, engineers, and visionaries particularly welcome to develop this wild woodland into a cool living space MUSICIANS of course always popular we sing many evenings late into the night and turn up at local festivals to busk etc.

Accommodation is very comfortable usually in a twin room, in our own home which is finished to a high standard. All meals included. When house is rented we all move down to the yurt & camping area - also very comfortable. We are located in a small hamlet overlooking Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, one hour north of Lucca, in the Appenine Mountains with fabulous views of the Apuan Alps. We are fifteen minutes from Castelnuovo the nearest train station, and 1.5 hours from Pisa Airport. The location is very rural, although the villages of Chiozza (15 mins), Castiglione (30 mins) and even Castelnuovo (1 hour) are reachable on foot.

Colm

About the host

Colm

Host since

2018

Languages

English, Spanish, French, Italian

Last seen online

2 Months ago

Single having brought up four sons who appear regularly, musician & lover of this spot I call my home. I have been restoring random stone buildings in our immediate vicinity and rent them out on airbnb and other sites. Current project is creating a camp site for random campers but also for annual festivals of music & theatre - two of my passions.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks

Expected workhours

  • 4 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • shared room, shared apartment

Very comfortable home, although when it is rented out we move down to our camp site & yurt - also comfortable - but camping-comfortable.

  • shared meals

Three meals cooked from scratch daily with the healthiest of ingredients.

  • no money is involved