Back to Top

Farm needs help with gardens and horses.

World, Oceania, Australia, Braidwood

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

11°C, 20:42

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

I have a small 8 acre horse property on the outskirts of the Heritage Listed town of Braidwood, NSW. It is a 2 minute walk to the main street which also has a bus service to Canberra and the South Coast. I need help to establish a vegetable and flower garden, general help around the farm and also assistance with the daily chores associated with the horses. There is also times when we may be called out to rescue injured Native Animals. There is also the possibility to help out on a local Wildlife Sanctuary helping to care for orphaned kangaroos, wombats and possum joeys.

About the host

Marilyn

Marilyn

Host since

2018

Languages

English

Last seen online

4 Months ago

I am retired and run the farm myself. There are 4 horses (Paints and Appaloosas), 4 miniature horses and a foal on the way, 2 border collie pups and 2 pigs. I have been working with horses for all my life and am happy to pass on my knowledge. I am vegetarian, easy going, out going and the only thing I will not accept is any kind of cruelty. I am an avid quilter/sewer and have my own quilting machine. I like to drive to the coast for lunch and take my pups for a run on the beach. Having some help around the farm will give me more time to train my horses.

Project dates


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • animal care

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

You will have your own lockable room with comfortable bed, TV, DVD player and internet and your own bathroom within the house.

  • shared meals

I will prepare all meals.

  • no money is involved