Back to Top

Learn new cultures and help with our different sustainable projects in the Amazonas Region, Northern Peru

World, South America, Peru, Chachapoyas

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

18°C, 21:31

About the workproject

We need 3 volunteers

Plan A: Domestic help

Plan B: Developing of projects help:
Her: Wellness Center
Him: Horse Back Riding Tour Operator
Financial Sustainability Conservation Projects (Production, Eco-tourism, Research, Human Sources Training)

Notes:
*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ we ask all potential volunteers to do a Sykpe meeting. This helps you get to know us and us to know you more. If you don´t have Skype we can communicate via Whatsapp also.
*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ a volunteer could fit within both the A and B plan combination in order of a previous agreement.
*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ both you and I reserve the right to quit the volunteer agreement at any time and for any reason. We ask for at least 24 hours notice as we will provide you the same courtesy. For this reason we ask all our volunteer to have a back up plan.

Plan A:
Gardening
Cooking / shopping
General Maintenance
Help in the house
Animal care
Helping with Tourists

Plan B:
Reading, summarizing and explaining lecture material
Graphic designing
Photography
Video editing
Grant writing4qd
Social Media managing
Team Building
Bio construction
Carpentry
Marketing (on line/ off line)
First Aid training
Teaching Yoga and/or Meditation
Riding and managing horses
Horse Veterinarian Assistance
Host service training (cooking, client attention, complaint management)
Saddle fixing
Horseshoeing/Farriery

Help

Plan A:
Cooking, Cleaning, Gardening + Dog!
We need a volunteer to help in the house. We live in a town far from either family, and we both work full-time, so our domestic tasks need tending to.

Tasks include
*️️️️️️️️️️️shopping at the local market for ingredients (a great way to practice your Spanish if you are rusty or just learning)
*️️️️️️️️️️️cooking for the household.
- No problem if you have a special diet because you will be the chef.
- However your dietary requirements must fit within our financial budget. Specialty foods are not common where we live, and if they are, they are expensive and not for our everyday use.
- We do not restrict our diet and therefore you should be willing to cook a variety of foods.
- The most important point for us regarding food is NUTRITION (which means colors and variety)
*️️️️️️️️️️️cleaning the house, including daily dishes (it´s not a big house, and we have a schedule to help keep you organized and everything tidy)
*️️️️️️️️️️️laundry (we have a washing machine, so laundry includes setting the machine, hanging the clothes to dry and folding them when dry)
*️️️️️️️️️️️dog care (walking, playing, bathing, picking up her droppings)
*️️️️️️️️️️️gardening (we have a small space to start a gardening project and would love your help)

Plan B: we ask for versatility. We are working different kinds of projects at the same time, so don´t be surprised by a sudden change of direction or focus.
*️️️️️️️️️️️Reading, summarizing and explaining lecture material, Graphic designing, Photography, Video editing, Social Media managing, Marketing (on line/ off line) (all related with on line developing of corporative image of the currents projects)
*️️️Grant writing (we interact with different rural associations related with The Amazonian Volunteer Network, So grant applications are a regular process in our life)
*️️️Team Building (we work with different rural communities, coaching and development of leadership in young people is a relevant part of any rural entrepreneurship)
*️️️Bio construction, Carpentry (directed to building projects in rural communities)
*️️️Teaching Yoga and/or Meditation (multi levels and related with a Wellness Center)
*️️️First Aid training, Riding and managing horses, Horse Veterinarian Assistance, Host service training, Saddle fixing, *️️️Horseshoeing/Farriery (all related with the development of a social company between community horse people and high service standards)

Compensation
3 meals daily, shared bedroom (or private, if you are the only volunteer), hot shower.

What we expect
We need a volunteer trust worthy. Able to be a self starter and take the initiative to help solve problems…not cause more. Able to care for our home, nutrition and dog. You don't need to be a chef, but be creative and flexible. You must be clean and orderly.

Need To Know
Knowing our expectations can alleviate any concerns or questions you may have. Equally, we would appreciate you sharing your expectations with us. When we are both clear about our expectations the chances of disappointment are minimized.

General Expectations
*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Volunteers are expected to act in a mature manner, recognizing inappropriate or destructive behavior from you, is a reflection of us in the town.
*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Everyone in the home is expected to respect each others private space and personal items.
*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We expect respect be shown to our dog. No aggressive behavior is allowed or tolerated.
*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We expect mutual respect. Disagreeing appropriately and open communication are encouraged from you and practiced by us.

In-House Items
*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Smoking is not permitted. We do not permit volunteers that smoke (weed, cigarettes, pipe tobacco, cigars, cigarillos or the like). Sorry, but past volunteers have ruined it for all of you :(
*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️No burning of incense or scented candles. No excessive use of cologne or perfumes. Babies are extremely sensitive to these types of smells.
*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Everyone contributes to the purchase of toilet paper.
*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We are renting our home. Please show respect to the home and its owner.
*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Random tasks could be asked of you as well, such as helping to move a piece of furniture or organize some items.

Schedule
*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Volunteers are asked to contribute 25 hours per week. The daily schedule will be discussed with each individual volunteer.

-We cannot be held liable for any accidents that occur during your time with us, or while traveling to/from our location.-

Thanks for reading and we hope to hear from you soon!

~ Henry and Jessica

About the host

Henry

Host since

2018

Languages

English, Spanish

Last seen online

7 Months ago

My husband Henry and I (Jessica) are an international couple with our first child, living in Northern Peru. We met in a language school in the Sacred Valley where I was volunteering to teach English and my husband was teaching Spanish. We moved to Northern Peru to start a life together. My husband is a veterinarian by trade, and working in conservation for the 15 preservation areas in the Amazonas Region. Also we are both working on developing our own business. So we manage two kinds of profiles in order of our progress.

Project dates


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • farming
  • help in the house
  • teaching projects
  • maintenance tasks
  • tourist support
  • eco projects
  • animal care
  • computer help
  • internet support

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • shared room

You will have a shared bedroom (bed and bedding provided) or private if you are the only volunteer. A shared bathroom with hot water shower. We have pets and there is internet limited access.

  • shared meals

Basically you help us to prepare meals to share. You can take care of your special diet if you need it.

  • no money is involved