Back to Top

Fun, work and swim in the lake!

World, North America, Canada, Rouyn-Noranda



Travel dates

27°C, 18:03

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

Younger, I used to backpack a lot and live with whoever was inviting me at their place. I loved that kind of experience. Today, I own a little house on the side of lake Joannès, in a northern region called Abitibi-Témiscamingue, rigth by Transcanadian hyway. Now with two teens (13 and 14) and a charming lover, I thought I could do the opposite : inviting travelers to share projects with me and enjoy life. That's reason one to join Hovos, but yes, yes! There is also plenty of things that need love outside and inside my house. I feel sometimes exhausted just to think of all the things that have to get done. How nicer would it be as a team! Work can be done by people with or without experience. Nothing is urgent. I could have everything done by construction people here, but it would be less stimulating than receiving travellers! I am open for more than one person. Plenty of room here. Painting, walls, landscaping, some electricity, fixing stuff... You'll find something you are good at and leave a trace of you on my house!

My place is in Quebec, so it's speaking French all around! It's about 7 hours drive NW of Montreal, and the same distance from Toronto, NE. It's quite easy to hitchike too (great experience myself...). There is also an airport 15 minutes from home but interior fligths are really expensive.

About the host


Host since



English, French, Portuguese, Spanish

French is my mother language.

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

I am a manager in a college. I love having lots of people around me. I like outdoor activities but nothing fancy; canoe, hiking, cooking on fire, biking, swimming. I enjoy the possibilities where I live. I have friends and family living by. Any visitor would join something like a little community. My kids are easy going and curious. They stay at my house one week out of two. I mostly own old things; old car, old furniture, old dishes, old clothes. I do not care a lot about things.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • maintenance tasks

Expected workhours

  • 4 hours a day
  • 4 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

I have many rooms. You would have a private bathroom although washing directly in the lake during summer is much more fun!

  • shared meals

I would love to share cooking!

  • offering money for all working hours 

Reviews (1)

1 2 3 4 5