Back to Top

Join me in Paradise and help with house keeping and cooking...mostly cooking.

World, Oceania, New Zealand, Opua

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

12°C, 00:59

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

My home is in the beautiful subtropical Bay of Islands in the North of New Zealand. It's a large luxurious house with an independent apartment attached. I sometimes rent the apartment to tourists in the busy summer season but it is vacant now. This is where you would stay: www.hannahdehaven.com

I have houses in New Zealand, USA, and Japan. My wife is in Japan (indefinitely) taking care of her aging mother and I prefer living in New Zealand so I am alone here. Living alone, I don't eat properly and I miss having someone in the house. Since I don't like living alone I have lots of visitors coming and going...but that doesn't solve the cooking problem. I like all kinds of food, I'm not picky, and you don't have to be a professional cook...just a little experience and a sincere interest in cooking is good enough. We can experiment together.

In addition to cooking I would like you to help a little with the housework...not much. Also it would be nice to have a little help with light gardening. About an hour or two per week. I have no grass and no mowing...just a small vege garden. Mostly weeding. I do need to do some minor tree trimming and landscaping work sometime this winter, but no big deal.

I can't offer a long term position as I may need to visit one of my other homes, but your stay at my place could be a useful base for finding other things, places, jobs in New Zealand. So I prefer someone who is already in NZ or has other alternatives if I need to leave.

This "job" would be more like a luxurious (free) holiday for you so I am not offering any salary.

Although there is nothing in this job that a guy couldn't do I don't feel comfortable with guys living in my house. Sorry.

About the host

Dan (74)

Host since

2017

Languages

English

Last seen online

4 Weeks ago

I worked in the computer industry for many years. Started in the US and then 20 years in Japan. I retired in 2000 and have been living mostly in New Zealand while my wife lives mostly in Japan. I'm extremely happy in New Zealand and my wife is extremely happy in Japan and we are extremely happy when we live together for a few months each year. Life is good.

I have lots of interests inside and outside. I'm quite busy but also enjoy many relaxing times. Music is a big part of my life...listening.

When I'm alone I can't seem to generate much interest in cooking although I really like eating. Someone around to cook and clean would make my life better.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • help in the house

Expected workhours

  • 2 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private apartment, shared room, shared apartment

Acommodation is flexible and may need to change as visitors come and go. I have a lot of visitors.

  • shared meals

Breakfast:
You can sleep late, get up early and go out, and I am perfectly OK with taking care of my own breakfast...probably would even if you had breakfast at the same time.

Lunch:
Same story as breakfast, but a nice lunch once in a while would be nice.

Dinner:
I would like a nice dinner most days, but if you are out I can take care of myself.

  • no money is involved

You would be getting the best end of this deal, living in a luxurious home, lots of free time to enjoy NZ, minimal duties. It is OK if you want to have a walkabout for a few days at a time. And you can move on whenever you are ready...no commitment.