Back to Top

Eco inspired build on our property in the Highlands of Scotland

World, Europe, Scotland, Lumphanan

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

3°C, 21:18

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

Hello! We live in the village of Lumphanan, in the beautiful Scottish countryside 24miles west of Aberdeen. We renovated a Manse bought from the Church of Scotland and are now looking to build an "Earthship" inspired structure on a bank next to the house. It would be constructions using reclaimed materials and most notably recycling tires to use as the walls on three sides of the structure. I desperately need help packing/pounding earth into the tyres and piling them on top of each other so our little earthship can rise from the ground. We would take very good care of you as it is very hard work moving earth and packing tires so that they are suitable for building. The Cairngorms national park is very close by showing you all that Scotland is famous for - river, views, wildlife, loch's etc. Please come and join in. We have two double rooms available so could suit a couple of couples or even singles willing to share a double bed!

About the host

Ron (48)

Host since
2017

Languages
German, English

Last seen online
1 Years ago

I am living with my partner of 6yrs Tanja and we moved to Scotland from the south of England to be close to daughter who moved here with her Mum just over 4yrs ago. We work abroad mostly and get to spend a lot of time in the highlands. We love walking, movies and exercise. I am getting into mountain biking as I have learnt the my running days are over due to old knees!
We are basically busy people who are always taking on new challenges hence the building of an earthship style space on the land to create a gym and workout space that we hope to share with the local community.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • construction
  • eco projects

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 6 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

You would be staying the house with us and using the main bathroom. Both rooms have double beds and we have wifi. We don't have TV in the house but do have a 42" in one bedroom that connects to hard drives etc.
There is a main kitchen lounge and diner which we would all eat in together.
We have two medium sized dogs who are crazy friendly (Flower and Rosie) and my daughter would be around from time to time (8yrs).

  • shared meals

It will be a combination of help yourself and cooking of main meals for us all to share - but if you want your own space then of course you have it.

  • no money is involved

Could help with reasonable transportation costs to get you to us xxx We would pick you up from where ever you could to locally also.