Back to Top

Our future home is a DIY project

World, Europe, Portugal, Santiago de Besteiros

APPLY NOW

APPLY NOW

Travel dates

27°C, 19:03

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

Our dream of retiring to a small mountain village, in the green centre of Portugal, is becoming a reality. Our willingness to make it work has not deteriorated but our bodies have smile
Our future home needs some work such as floors laying, a kitchen fitting, a wall removed, windows replaced and general garden clearance.

About the host

Louise

Louise

Host since

2017

Languages

English, French

My native language is English and my partner is native French, we speak each others languages but don;t write in them. I am learning Portuguese - so far I can say hello and order beer.

Last seen online

4 weeks ago

We are a couple coming up to retirement. I am an English teacher in France and my partner is an Electrician. We want to make a little small holding so we can grow as much of our own food as we can without it taking up all our time. We have animals, 2 cats and a dog, all from a rescue centre.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • maintenance tasks

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

We can give you a room with a bed in the house when we are there working. The bedrooms are clean and in a good physical state.

  • shared meals

We can all eat together although I am not good at mornings so if you get your own breakfast that would be better.

  • no money is involved