Back to Top

Learn to be independent on Selfsufficiency farm

World, Europe, Denmark, Fjerritslev

APPLY NOW

APPLY NOW

Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

We seek volunteers for cheesemaking and cow caretaking and help with our Charcuteri school

Do you have interest in homesteading dairy production? Then you have a lifetime chance to learn about how to produce cheese and butter at home.
Very few cheese makers let people from outside take part in their production because it requires full concentration and a high hygiene standard.
You are going to take care of our jersey cow and milk her twice a day. We just got a new milking machine so we no longer do it by hand anymore which we did for 10 years.
You will pasteurise our milk for cheesemaking and fermented butter making and making drinking milk and tykmælk, a Danish product.
You will also make some of our cheeses.
We are now going in a new fase of our cheese making where we will implement more natural supplements for the cheeses as they did before industry took over.
We have a Charcuteri school only open in weekends where we help people to be self sufficient in charcuteri products, salami, sausages, brining and smoking. Courses in Italian, Spanish and French Charcuteri.

Learn to grow own vegetables using the bio-intensive system. Most of our food travel very few yards before it ends on our table.

We also seek persons to help us with the garden. In return you will get lessons in the biointensive method and the no-dig method. These methods make it possible to grow in harmony with the earth and even reestablish the fertility in the soil.

It is important to us that people coming here have a true interest in self sufficiency and have a willingness to learn. That's why we are not so keen in having turists coming who are thinking more of what to see next in Denmark. People with good spirit and positive attitude and of course an engagement in our place and the methods we use are more than welcome here.
We are non-smokers and will prefer you are the same.

We are continuing building new raised beds by mugging out in our stables and making new beds on top of the grass (no-dig method).

Other works as described in our profile.

Service anouncement:
We are situated in Denmark but we don't live like the most Danes. Our daily rythm is more South European. We have breakfast 10 am and start work after morning briefing about days tasks. Lunch is around 3-4 pm and dinner is usually around 8.30-10 pm.
We welcome vegetarians and vegans who come to learn our biointensive system but you need to respect that we slaughter our own livestock and sometimes talk together about it. We don't have any prejudices about veganism and vegetarianism like we don't expect you to have any about our lifestyle and food.

You work 5 hours a day 6 days a week and have 1 day off.

You have free wifi and a room in the house or in a caravan and three meals a day. You can borrow our bicykles

We will ask you to bring only environmental friendly toiletries because our waste water ends on our field.
Products made:
bakery, beef products, bread, bread, sourdough, butter, cheese, chicken products, egg production, herb-infused oils, meat products, medicinals, pork products, preserves, sausage, soaps, stone milled flour, teas, wine, yogurt

Feel free to ask questions.

About the host

Charlotte W. (51)

Host since

2016

Languages

Danish, English

Last seen online

6 months ago

We are a family of 4, my husband and I and our 2 kids. We are selfsufficient as much as possible and we have a company who educate people to make their own things such as sausages, salume, how to slaughter and cut out own pig, making cheese, making bread and building raised beds for biointensive growing.
A fantastic forest with a huge biodiversity is our neighbour and we have a wonderful view to the fjord (inlet) which is only 3,5 km. away. Plenty of opportunities to go for walks or by bike in the nature around.
Photo: I'm sitting with a baby chicken that you can't see on the photo grin

  • Email verified
  • Passport verified
  • Phone verified
  • Payment verified
  • Review received
  • Slow response
  • Experienced

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • farming
  • language practice
  • help in the house
  • teaching projects
  • maintenance tasks
  • eco projects
  • animal care
  • computer help
  • internet support

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 6 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room, shared room

  • shared meals

The house/helper will prepare lunch and dinner but you will prepare own breakfast. We will not always eat meals together because of our work. If you are vegetarian or vegan you are very welcome here but you will make your own meals from what we have on the farm. If you need special diet you are welcome to bring it yourself.

  • no money is involved

Reviews (1)

1 2 3 4 5
  • Email verified
  • Passport verified
  • Phone verified
  • Payment verified
  • Review received
  • Slow response
  • Experienced