Back to Top

Straydog Rescue needs animal loving volunteers

World, Asia, Thailand, Tambon Ko Chang

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

32°C, 15:07

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

I am Tina, originally from Europe but living in Thailand for many years and I am the founder of a small dog rescue / welfare organisation on a beautiful Thai island in the eastern part.
We are a non-profit stray dog rescue, and besides of feeding/treating and spaying strays on the streets and beaches, we run a small emergency shelter with currently 36 four-legged inhabitants... plus 5 in a volunteer run fosterhome. We recently have started an adoption program with one dog living in Holland already by now and 2 that left to loving homes in Switzerland early 2017. 8 more will be leaving in us in late September. We started building our emergency shelter/sanctuary in February this year and it is still a project in progress.
At the time I am writing this, I feed and treat about 80-100 strays on the streets. My main goal is to spay/neuter as many island dogs/cats possible to end the suffering and reduce the island's stray population an ethical and humane way. The shelter is small and being built on just 1800 sqm, we have no 24 h kennels all our dogs run free, those that don't get along are seperated by fences.
The shelter houses a small clinic room for visiting guest vets to treat /spay our dogs in need.

We offer a simple, but modern and spacious room close to the shelter, own bathroom, fan/aircon and free wifi provided.

Relying entirely on donations, all money goes to the animals, we don't have funds to pay fulltime time staff, so there is no one to cook for you, but we will provide food for one meal per day, you can use our roofed outdoor kitchen at the shelter to prepare your lunch/dinner on your own... Kitchen includes gas cooker, microwave, coffee machine, kettle etc.

About the host

Tina (53)

Host since

2016

Languages

German, English, Nederlands

Last seen online

12 Months ago

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • maintenance tasks
  • tourist support
  • animal care
  • pet sitting

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 6 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

A private room with comfo bed, locker, fan and free wifi... terracce

  • self catering

We provide food and you prepare by your self

  • no money is involved