Back to Top

Gardening and building

World, Europe, Ireland, Bantry


Travel dates

4°C, 14:39

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

I have an organic garden with ploy-tunnel and an ornamental garden Main Tasks are centered around the garden, weeding, transplanting, grass cutting and so on. There is also wood gathering and stacking. We go down to the sea nearby and collect seaweed. Accommodation is is a separate building near the main house, there is room upstairs for 2 people sharing. It does not have central heating but a masonry wood stove you can fire up once a day to keep the damp out. All meals are in the main house I have a keen interest in Self sufficiency and sustainable living A particular kind of life style I do not have any animals at this time. You can experience self sufficiency here, where food comes from, how water and the house is heated I produce my own electricity from Solar panels and a water turbine this means also turning off switches unplugging phone chargers saving energy. There are lots of woofers in our area, I try to have two helpers at a time however it is not always possible. I was a member of Woof Ireland for several years, this year I changed to Help X also. A degree of independence and the ability to work alone is necessary I teach Tai Chi and Gazing Meditation you are welcome to join if you wish I do a variety of different things, I still keep a few honey bees and go sea fishing. You can come fishing or sailing with me in the summer months. I used to do basket making but only rarely now In my free time I do Irish set dancing and play the whistle (Irish flute) You can come to the pub with me on Tuesday evenings and try it out Bicycles are available to tour around the beautiful Coomhola valley I can take you to nearby places of interest time permitting. Your help is greatly appreciated as this lifestyle is work orientated. I need your help 5 hours per day 5 days a week Sat. Sun. Free.
Useful things to bring are garden gloves, a hot water bottle and rubber boots (Wellies).

About the host

Paddy (66)

Host since




Last seen online

4 Days ago

I am an artist native to Ireland I have a large garden
the garden is important for food. I play the Irish flute and do Irish set dancing, I do a lot of different activities and speak a little Spanish

Project dates

Work to be done

  • gardening

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private cottage, camper, trailer / caravan

  • shared meals

Meals are in the main house, you make your own breakfast, lunch and dinner we share

  • no money is involved