Back to Top

Horizons Kangaroo Sanctuary

World, Oceania, Australia, Agnes Water

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

23°C, 20:13

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

Horizons Kangaroo Sanctuary is located just outside beautiful Agnes Water in sunny Queensland. We are a couple dedicated to the rehabiltiation and release of orphaned kangaroo joeys.
We require help with the maintenance of the house and yard. It is very important that a clean and healthy environment is kept for the animals so there is a lot of cleaning involved. We have a menagerie of other animas as well so cleaning out bird cages, making sure everyone has clean water and food (the list goes on) is ongoing & required every day.
Our property is 10 hectares and we have lots of gardens including a vege garden. We are in the process of establishing an orchard and the 100 mango trees are always in need of attention.
We prefer long stays (2 weeks, 4 weeks or more is ideal) as it is hard on the joeys to have a constant stream of strangers and it also takes them a while to get used to and comfortable with new people so you can help with feeding, excercise etc.
If you are an animal lover, can go without eating meat while you are here (I do not eat any animal products but Garry still eats some fish) and are not afraid of a bit of work we would love to hear from you. We need volunteers who are hands on, have common sense and can help with preparing meals (mainly the evening meal).

About the host

Denise

Denise (57)

Host since

2016

Languages

English

Last seen online

2 Years ago

Garry and I have retired after many years owning our business. We moved to beautiful Agnes Water 12 years ago. After moving onto our property, Garry found a joey and after ringing the local carers, I asked if I could learn how to care for the joey. That was 11 years ago and I fell in love with these defensless beautiful animals and have since dedicated my time to saving these precious babies. We also have a menagerie of other animals that have been abandoned or injured so obviously we are huge animal loverrs. We also believe that we should leave as little impact on our planet when we leave so we live our life trying to achieve this.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • animal care

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 7 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

We live in a large 3 bedroom house where you will have your own double bedroom and bathroom. We like our volunteers to be part of the family so you are welcome to the use of the house. My internet is quite unreliable and access is limited so it would be wise to organise your own (there is the library in town)

  • shared meals

  • no money is involved