Back to Top

Building up a 40 acre self sufficient, off grid homestead

World, North America, USA, Show Low

You can't send a message to Luis, because the account is 'on hold'. This means that Luis does not want to receive any new offers at this time.

18°C, 06:34

About the workproject

We need 4 volunteers

We need four FEMALES because of my young daughters. We are an off grid 40 acre farm located in Northern Arizona,U.S. We need to put up the wind turbines, build the in-ground greenhouse, build a root cellar , plan and plant the orchard. We need to raise the pigs, care of chickens, raise the calves. Help with children, cooking. Outdoors activities. Put up the swimming pool. It snows here a little. 1 hr 30 min from ski resorts, 3 hrs from Phoenix or Albuquerque, New Mexico. There is also places to hike nearby like the Grand Canyon. You can experience building a farm from infancy stages of planning. Lots to learn and share. We will do herbals, animal husbandry, solar, wind, food preservation, lots of natural and organic foods.

Our ECO Project will be ongoing for years to come. This project is at its infant stages, lots of dedicated planning, creativity and work. things are a bit rustic for a few more months which is why I am calling on HOVOS Volunteers that want to make a difference, assist, and learn all the while making new friends and learning new experiences.

About the host

Luis

Host since

2016

Languages

English, Spanish, Portuguese

Last seen online

10 Months ago

My name is Luis Alcantar born in San Francisco, California. I am French, Italian, Spanish, Mexican, and Portuguese. My parents migrated here from Mexico in the 1950's. I am divorced but ex spouse wants to stay and help on the farm. I enjoy outdoors, cooking on grill, occasional drinks, non-smoking. No drug usage here. I am seeking fun and creative individuals for our venture here. I want to teach you my skills as well as learning new ones. I have been exposed to people from all walks of life. I have been to Europe, Brazil, Mexico, Puerto Rico and different states here in USA. I like to have friendships. I enjoy laughing and story telling. I enjoy sitting in front of an outdoor fire or inside fireplace. I enjoy traveling. I am spiritual.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • farming
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • eco projects
  • animal care
  • computer help
  • internet support
  • child care / au pair

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • shared cottage, camper

We have a 2 bedroom 32 foot self contained travel trailer for your use, two girls per room. It has a full bathroom, kitchen, living room. This will be used until we can rebuild/refurbish the cottage/cabin (Which is a lot more roomy and cozier). We will take a vacation in Arizona or to California every other month for my business needs and your enjoyment.

  • shared meals

We cook American, Mexican and Chinese meals. We welcome your countries cultural foods and meals. We eat fresh, natural, and some organic foods.

  • no money is involved