Back to Top

Horse and Dog Haven needs Adventurous Help!

World, Europe, Bulgaria, Sliven

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

21°C, 22:17

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

Here in Bulgaria, the poorest country in the EU, we work to rehabilitate mistreated horses and dogs, caring for them in a small haven amid good walking and riding country. A pair of volunteers are wanted to live and work in and around the haven, with dogs and horses from local ghettos. Accommodation is simple: in either an old-fashioned wagon and a small caravan. Water is from a well; electricity via solar and generator. We needs physically fit helpers with excellent adaptation skills as well as a love for dogs and horses smile This position would be ideal for a couple with a love of the outdoors, and a sense of adventure

About the host

Castaway (62)

Host since

2016

Languages

English

Last seen online

12 Months ago

I'm a semi-retired travel writer who's been working to reduce suffering among local cats, dogs and horses, for ten years. During that time, a good relationship has been established with people living in a nearby ghetto, so that I, and my helpers, are now welcome to enter yards and help dogs and horses in distress, taking them to our haven, if required, or visiting regularly to treat problems. Some inidividuals in the ghetto are now key workers within our aid operation, who, despite a language barrier, would be keen to assist volunteers, if needed.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • animal care
  • charity work

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • trailer / caravan

We have a tall old-fashioned wagon with a bedroom and dining/sitting area, and a caravan with a double bed and sitting area. Both are situated on the haven site, with water from a well available for washing, but no bathroom facilities. We need helpers who dont mind using a bucket and spade, and learning a bit about what's it's like to live like some of the local people we help in a ghetto nearby, where there are also no indoor bathrooms.

  • self catering

At least twice a week, excellent bathroom facilities will be offered in the home of a kind person who lives a few kilometres away, plus a cooked meal if desired, on wash days, when your laundry can also be done for you.

  • no money is involved