Back to Top

Cafe & House in the heart of the community

World, Oceania, Australia, Beerwah

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

24°C, 05:47

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

G'day : )
if you would like to get off the backpacker trail and experience some Australian lifestyle then here is your opportunity.
As a host, I live in a semi rural town called Beerwah. Our place is a real little hub of community. We enjoy music, travel and making life itself an adventure.

We are 1 hour north of Brisbane, 5 mins from the Australia Zoo (famous because of Steve Irwin the crocodile handler) and 25 mins inland from the Sunshine Coast beaches.
The area we are situated is call Glasshouse Mountains. This region is truly picturesque with an expanse of forest & diminutive Mountains..

Our house is in the middle of Beerwah, we are only minutes to the Beerwah train station, supermarkets and the towns facilities.
The type of volunteers we appreciate are those who are easy going, mature mind, like meeting new people and are here to enjoy what our area has to offer.
Our preference is a minimum stay of 3- 4 weeks to help out in our family's cafe and to help to plant a garden and beautify the area
Please do note, Time with us is not about being addicted to the internet, nor glued to the TV or phone texting, its about living the adventure of life, travel and experiencing new cultures.

About the host

Steve

Host since
2016

Languages
English

Last seen online
1 Months ago

To remember the best things in life...... are not things : )
ABOUT ME
I'm an easy going person who believes that life really is what you make it. If you smile & aim to bring out the best in others, it so often comes back to you.As our character reflects where we've been & what we've been up too, here's a little of me.... I've thoroughly travelled all around Australia and have lived in all our capital cities & many of it's rural towns. I've visited some awesome overseas destinations including New Zealand, Europe, the Caribbean, India, New York, Asia & the Pacific Islands.My jobs have been varied, while studying & travelling I've worked in a load of different Cafes & bars. Was a tour guide on Kangaroo Island, worked at a backpackers for 2 years in Perth, worked in Radio, audio mixing for live bands, did 3 seasons working the Australian & NZ Snow fields, plus jobs in the Whitsunday Islands & the Gold Coast. I spent 10 years as a youth worker, are a trained residential draftsman and now run our family Cafe.... whew! & I'm only 1/2 way on the joureny ; )

PHILOSOPHY
How we treat one another is the real barter & exchange in life, it carries more weight than money or possessions.
Life really is what you make it...
A simplistic statement i know, but!... most of us have the ability to choose who we hangout with and where we place ourselves....and these 2 things so shape who we are and what fills up our time, our life... : )

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • tourist support

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • shared room

Your accommodation (a shared room with other helpers) will be provided for in a 4 bedroom home in the middle of the town.
You will be sharing with others who are here to travel and experience the Aussie way of life.
So be comfortable with share accommodation, be open minded and embrace the Australian culture & humour.

  • shared meals

We provide for you all your meals 3 times a day, you help yourself during the day, but we share dinner with everyone at night

  • offering money for additional hours