Back to Top

Help with elderly father and help in the garden

World, Europe, England, Frogmore

You can't send a message to Patricia, because the account is 'on hold'. This means that Patricia does not want to receive any new offers at this time.

16°C, 00:28

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

We live in a beautiful area of South Devon. Anthony & I run a luxury bed & breakfast and care for Anthony's elderly father, Raymond, who has early stage dementia and lives in our annex. Frogmore is a small friendly village 3 miles from Kingsbridge and 12 miles from Dartmouth. There is a good local pub and a small shop/bakery. It is on a regular bus route between Dartmouth & Plymouth.
Our home is situated on the estuary and has a large garden. We also have our own chickens and grow fruit & vegetables.
Anthony & I run the B&B with the help of our cleaner Andrea, who usually services the rooms and does all the cleaning, but we would like help with this when she is away or on a couple of days a week when she is not working.
There are usually one or two other workaday volunteers in the village.
Our volunteer would be living in the annex with Raymond and we would like him/her to help look after Raymond, who can generally care for himself but needs to be kept an eye on. We generally take him fresh bread in the mornings for breakfast, provide him with a plated lunch, which he has by himself and he usually joins us for dinner. He is a very placid man and sleeps a lot during the day and has to be kept to a routine. Raymond has a West Highland Terrier, Rafa, who is a delightful dog. Raymond will take Rafa for a short morning walk and one of us usually takes him for a longer walk in the afternoons.

About the host

Patricia (57)

Host since

2016

Languages

English, Spanish

Last seen online

12 Months ago

We have been married 34 years and moved to Devon to care for Anthony's elderly parents. We run a luxury Bed & Breakfast and Raymond, Anthony's father, lives in our annex. Anthony plays golf and does a lot of gardening. Pat loves to read and cook. We both enjoy travelling, eating out and relaxing in our lovely home.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • help in the house
  • elderly care

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

Double bedroom with TV. Use of Raymond's kitchen etc. The annex has a bathroom fitted with a bath seat for Raymond, but there is also a separate shower room. There is a lounge and dining room and a utility room with washing machine and tumble dryer.

  • shared meals

Some shared meals some self catering.

  • no money is involved