Back to Top

Young and ambitious cultural exchange initiative: Spain & World positions!

World, Europe, Spain, Vega de Valcarce

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

7°C, 08:23

About the workproject

We need 11 volunteers

Our job is to find unique and creative ways to bring travelers and local people together. We have two projects: One is our community cultural center, which uses art, skill & hobby themed meetings for unique, entertaining & insightful cultural exchanges. Our other initiative is a global nonprofit cultural association, doing the same our community cultural center does, but all around the world. Both projects are looking for volunteers, some can come to Spain, other's can do while traveling or at home!

We are located in a beautiful hamlet in the northwest mountains of Spain along the St James Way (El Camino de Santiago). Every year, over 200,000 travelers hiking from the East of Spain, to the West, pass right by our doors. We are so lucky to live in one of the most beautiful parts along the entire 750 Kilometer trek. We are off of the national road, along a quiet local road, 10 meters from the river!

We have a 5 bedroom house that we're using to host participants and volunteers. We are funded by our small store which sells packaged food items, basic camping supplies and souvenirs. The center is an open space for people to use our public kitchen, instruments, painting supplies and more!

My name is Richard and I started traveling when I was 26, it changed me, tremendously! Now, I've created a unique way to share the same benefits of traveling with local people. We are a young but very ambitious initiative. We need help from people with a number of skills. If you believe, as we do, change happens on a local level, we must build bridges and not walls, that humans are inherently compassionate, empathetic and accepting beings, please continue reading!

I will first start with the positions that need to be filled in our Community Cultural Center in Spain. Below, in caps, you will see other positions which can be done anywhere around the world

Volunteer Workshop Guide - This position requires you to have very good command of both Englsih and Spanish. You will guide: food, music & other themed cultural exchanges between local people and travelers. Guides are simply the leading participant of the exchange, helping with language barriers & encouraging everyone's involvement. Volunteer guides will also be responsible for helping in our organic garden, our small store, and keeping the property maintained (cleaning, organizing etc.). You must be an extrovert (although, I trained this one workawayer who was quite introverted, and he did awesome!)

Maintenance Volunteer - This positions requieres you to have good command of either English or Spanish. Your primary duties will be helping with repairs and improvements to our center, working in vegetable garden and helping other projects in the region we collaborate with.

Video editor - This positions requieres you to have good command of either English or Spanish. Your primary duties will be recording & editing videos for our youtube channel, fundraising initiatives and website information.

HELP US FROM ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD:

**Graphic Designerkiss* Help by making a 2 page media kit for our presentiations & website. We also need your help finishing up the design of our new logo.

**Translatorkiss* Translate from English to: French & Spanish, Please! We're looking for experienced (professional would be best) translators.

**Volunteer Ambassador**- Responsible for acquiring the information needed to implement our model for cultural exchange in your community. We have people on the ground in Spain, the UK, USA, Turkey, Germany & France. Commitment: 30 hours over two months. ​We're focused on communities with at least 7 months of tourism.

**Board of Directors, 2 positions availablekiss*
Legal / Accounting Chair: Experienced in NGO or international nonprofit association management
Web-Dev Chair: Experienced in the development of social media platforms. ​
Minimum 10 hours a month, one year commitment.

About the host

Richard (35)

Host since

2016

Languages

English, Spanish

Last seen online

2 Years ago

My name is Richard, when I was 26 I started to travel and it changed my life. I will always be grateful for my experiences growing up in Chicago, even though I don't have much in common with the old me. I've traded a business suit for pajama pants, my office is the nature and I've replaced materialistic desires with social and cultural ones. I've always been a hard worker with a strong character and a big heart. I love to joke around and make people laugh, it's really almost like a hobby. I have my serious moments, but they're moments with love and focused on accomplishing my goals. You can read my couchsurfing profiles people have left me over the last 7 years if you want some more personal references of who I really am.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • language practice
  • help in the house
  • teaching projects
  • maintenance tasks
  • tourist support
  • art projects
  • pet sitting

Expected workhours

  • 6 hours a day
  • 6 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

The volunteers will get a private room, wifi, access to the kitchen with food. As of now, we don't have hot water or heating, but that should change soon. The heating is no problem anyways, it's very warm here.

  • shared meals

It's very laid back here. Maybe I'm running around and you have to make your own food. I love to cook, I've worked as a vegetarian cook and I eat very healthy. Meat max once a week, lots of fresh vegetables and grains. I don't eat a lot of fruit because of the sugar, but if you want me to pick some up, I have no problem. I treat my volunteers very well.

  • no money is involved

Looks great on your CV/resume!