Back to Top

Help out in a small hostel in Skopje, Macedonia

World, Europe, Macedonia, Skopje

OFFER YOUR HELP

Travel dates

22°C, 21:47

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

Sirma's House is a homestay style hostel In the hills over the city of Skopje, walking distance to everything, but in a quiet residential neighborhood. All the city has to offer is withing your reach, and the rest of the country can be easily explored by bus. Right up the street begins a forest and you can hike to the Millennium Cross, a 12th Century monastery, and views of the whole valley.

So, I need help with running my mini-hostel - cleaning, changing sheets, reception, gardening, work with guests...

You will be staying in a house with a relatively large yard with many fruit trees, grapes, etc. I grow everything organically - do not use any pesticides nor artificial fertilizer. The house and yard needs maintenance and I could use some help to this regard. I also work with non-profits and could use some help there - research, web design, maintaining web page, marketing material development, Facebook pages, administration, and proposal writing... and open to other ideas too.

For short term stays in my house the guest would have a modest private room or possibly a bed in the dorm of 5 if the place gets crowded, occasional meals, and access to a small kitchen. I live upstairs in separate quarters. I do not have time to cook every day, and definitely not three meals a day, so you would be often on your own - I may provide some basic food supplies, but please plan to cover most of your meals on your own. If meals are provided, more work is requested. You will share bathroom with other guests. I have a WIFI and can offer a computer to use if you do not have your own. You enjoy relative privacy freedom with your time in return for a bit of help with the yard and house maintenance/repairs, and/or non-profit help as described above. I would not expect more that effective 3-4 hours a day, depending on schedule. Happy to show you around and maybe go together for a weekend trip in the vicinity.

About the host

Zoya (57)

Host since

2016

Languages

English, Spanish, Russian, Serbian

Last seen online

5 Days ago

Woman running this place solo. World traveler, international development professional/consultant.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • tourist support
  • art projects
  • internet support

Expected workhours

  • 4 hours a day
  • 6 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • shared room

You would have a modest private room or possibly a bed in the dorm of 5 if the place gets crowded, shared bathroom and access to a small kitchen.

  • self catering

You prepare meals by yourself most of the time. We may prepare shared meals occasionally.

  • no money is involved