Back to Top

Olives will need harvesting

World, Europe, Italy, Guardea

You can't send a message to Debra Carol, because the account is 'on hold'. This means that Debra Carol does not want to receive any new offers at this time.

24°C, 19:24

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

We are owners of a typical Umbrian rural Casale with 3000 sm of lawn and 7000 sm of olive grove and we are associated with SLOW Tourism.
Project: This AUTUMN-PLEASE.NOTE WELL- WE DO NOT GATHER OLIVES IN SUMMERTIME.
I will need help gathering olives (circa 280 trees) from which we make olive oil. Unfortunately I cannot give you specific dates yet- we see how they're ripening! Depending on the climate, usually from end of October until mid November.
NOTE: It can be done by women & men alike but NOTE- It is HARD work but we have fun!
It means putting down & picking up the large nets, 'brushing'the trees so the olives fall onto the net, gathering the nets and moving the olives into baskets which weigh 20+ kilos then moving them onto the tractor.
Afterwards we all take them to the frantoio and within 24 hours they will be crushed. We'll all go to see it made into olive oil while we make (and eat) 'bruschettas' and taste the different olive oils & celebrate (of course)- at the end of this hard work!
If you have also an interest in photography, italian cuisine and culture this is probably the most interesting time to be in Italy. Your stay would be here at the Casale (which I usually rent) and we will prepare & eat our meals together, I'll show you how to make some Italian cuisine.
NOTE: You must occupy ourselves with your own transport to arrive to either Rome Airport or Orvieto/Rome train station and your own visa & passport.

About the host

Debra Carol (62)

Host since

2016

Languages

English, French, Italian, Portuguese

Last seen online

1 Years ago

I'm have a BArch from SCI-Arch in Los Angeles, While living in Rome I found this abandoned farmhouse which we rebuilt. Now I'm doing a start up with it as a unique vacation rental in this beautiful undiscovered Umbrian countryside. I have two grown children here in Italy and their border collie Pepe who lives with me. I,ve lived in various states in the USA (CA, CO, MS, TX, IL), Germany, Belgium, France and Brazil. I speak English, Italian, French & Brazilian and have forgotten my German. Before working on this project my hobbies were sailing, trekking & traveling, sketching & photography. I like redoing furniture, sewing patchwork, cooking and making preserves/liquors and gardening.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • farming
  • eco projects

Expected workhours

  • 8 hours a day
  • 6 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

You will have one of the rooms which I usually rent to guests during the summer. Since I rent the whole Casale to one party, ALL of the rooms are the same quality standard. It is family living style, working together and preparing meals and eating together then of course free time is yours and I'll be pleased to show you beautiful sites here. There is wiFi in the house, a flat screen television and the town is only 1 km walk.

  • shared meals

We'll prepare lunch and dinner. I like to set the table for breakfast. If you're not up when I drink coffee, I'll leave the coffee pot charged-you turn it on and serve yourself.

  • no money is involved