Back to Top

...

World, Europe, Latvia, Bērzaine

APPLY NOW

Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

I need help restoring the house and its outbuildings, but also help around the house itself.
My future goals include making a beautiful organic garden.
If you have interest or knowledge in these areas then your help would be greatly appreciated.
I have experience restoring houses and I will help with the work where I can, but I am not as physically able as I used to be, so I need some extra help.

About the host

Fransuā (63)

Host since

2016

Languages

English, French

Last seen online

I am a retired (63 y.o.) intellectual from french culture who has chosen, by personal desire, to live in the Latvian countryside. I live mostly alone, except when I have friends, relatives, guests, or helpers visiting me.
I speak french ++++ (native language), english (+++), latvian (++), dutch (+) and german (+)
My lifestyle is ecological, and very close to nature, my property is an old wooden cottage built in 1925, typical of northern countries, that needs renovation.
I plan to make an eco-cottage and organic garden ... it is coming along and you can help me get there ...
I am happy to welcome guests, listen to their life stories and share with them the specifics of Latvian life and culture mixed with my culture of french origin. While I do need help with restoration works, I am also looking for cultural exchanges, sharing stories and experiences. We will quickly learn about each other, and from this, discover a way to work and live together.
I can teach all aspects of any the renovation jobs that have to be done, so don't worry if you feel you don't have any specific or extensive experience or knowledge in these areas.
I can also teach French or Latvian to the guests if desired.
And of course I'd would love to play music together if it is possible.

  • Payment verified
  • Review received
  • Slow response
  • Experienced
  • Passport verified
  • Phone verified
  • Email verified

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • language practice
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • eco projects
  • art projects
  • computer help

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room, private apartment, chalet

My property consists of several wooden buildings, a well, a cellar-fridge, an outdoor toilet, two ponds and an outdoor wood fired bathtub. The building style and my way of life is in keeping with that of life as it was in northern / eastern Europe until the 1960s, set in the countryside of Latvia.
It is a fairly basic way of living, compared with that of modern western Europe, and this is by personal choice. I live in a minimalist non materialistic way, but don't worry I have electricity, WiFi, internet, stereo system, microwave, tv, etc ... I'm not radical about my way of living in the simplicity.
But what my place has to offer is the location here in the peaceful Latvian countryside, where you can truly enjoy the beautiful scenery and experience true peace and quiet.
I can welcome guests either in a room in the main house, or in one of my guest cottages, according to the seasons and desires.

  • shared meals

Sharing of life, it is just a question of organisation, let's talk about it to find the best solution for all of us.

  • no money is involved

Reviews (1)

1 2 3 4 5
HOST 1 of 2228
  • Payment verified
  • Review received
  • Slow response
  • Experienced
  • Passport verified
  • Phone verified
  • Email verified