Back to Top

...

World, Europe, , Bērzaine

APPLY NOW

APPLY NOW

Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

I need help restoring the house and its outbuildings, but also help around the house itself.
I have experience restoring houses and I will help with the work where I can, but I am not as physically able as I used to be, so I need some extra help.
If you have interest in house restoration, then your help would be greatly appreciated.

About the host

Fransuā (64)

Host since

2016

Languages

English, French

Je parle aussi Letton, un peu Allemand et un peu Neerlandais.

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

I am a retired (63 y.o.) intellectual from french culture who has chosen, by personal desire, to live mostly alone in the Latvian countryside.
I speak french ++++ (native language), english (+++), latvian (+++), dutch (+) and german (+)
My lifestyle is ecological, and very close to nature, my property is an old wooden cottage built in 1925, typical of northern countries, that needs renovation.
I am happy to welcome guests, listen to their life stories and share with them the specifics of Latvian life and culture mixed with my culture of french origin.
I can teach all aspects of any the renovation jobs that have to be done, so don't worry if you feel you don't have any specific or extensive experience or knowledge in these areas.
I can also teach French or Latvian to the guests if desired.
And of course I'd would love to play music together if it is possible.

I'm preferably looking for French speaking guests, of the age group between 30 and 50 year old.
Je cherche de préférence des hôtes de langue française, de la tranche d'âge entre 30 et 50 ans.

I do not issue any invitation letter for obtaining visas.
I prefer a fairly short stay project, of 7 to 10 days, which can extend up to 3 weeks, depending of the affinities.
But don't hesitate to contact me, even if you are outside these criteria !

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us


Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • language practice
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • eco projects
  • art projects
  • computer help

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room, private apartment, chalet

My property consists of several wooden buildings, a well, a cellar-fridge, an outdoor toilet, two ponds and an outdoor wood fired bathtub. The building style and my way of life is in keeping with that of life as it was in northern / eastern Europe until the 1960s, set in the countryside of Latvia.
It is a fairly basic way of living, compared with that of modern western Europe, and this is by personal choice. I live in a minimalist non materialistic way, but don't worry I have electricity, WiFi, internet, stereo system, microwave, tv, etc ... I'm not radical about my way of living in the simplicity.
But what my place has to offer is the location here in the peaceful Latvian countryside, where you can truly enjoy the beautiful scenery and experience true peace and quiet.

  • shared meals

Sharing of life is just a question of organisation, let's talk about it to find the best solution for all of us.
See below

  • no money is involved

I expect from the helper 5 hours of real work per day/ 5 days a week, in return for your own private room in a guest cottage, meals, teaching you a practical experience in house renovation, full weekends off, free internet use, meeting with local latvian people.
I have also bicycles that you may borrow, and I can also help to organise excursions for / with you.

In addition to the 5 hours / day mentioned above, I expect a free sharing of time for housework: cooking, going to the store, cleaning the dishes and vacuuming the common rooms.

Reviews (1)

1 2 3 4 5