Back to Top

Help with gardening, house maintenance, language practice!

World, Europe, Czech Republic, Horšovský Týn



Travel dates

About the workproject

We need 1 volunteer

We are Guiselle (62) from Guatemala (Central America) and Hans Jürgen (61) from Germany. We are friendly and open minded people. Before we came to Czech Republic we lived in Germany and France. We have an organic vegetable garden (permaculture), make our own bread and preserve food for winter. Our cooking is international. We prefer vegetarian food, but we eat meat, too.
We are looking for ways of keeping in touch with other people from different countries or people from here.
We have an organic vegetable garden (permaculture). We grow different sorts of vegetables, also ancient sorts. We have a cat.
We speak German, English, French, Spanish and some Czech.
My wife (she was a teacher) can offer you lessons or conversation in German, English, or Spanish.
The work here can include general work in the house (cleaning, dishwashing, washing, cooking, and baking) and around the house, especially in the garden (gardening: seeding, planting, weeding, and watering the plants) and cutting and collecting wood in the forest (by hand).
We are also looking for a trustworthy and responsable person or couple to look after our house, garden and cat during our time of absence. Please contact us to discuss details.
You will have a bed in an own room in our house. You share bathroom and kitchen with us. The accommodation is really in family style smile but we are very friendly.
We can only take one person. Internet in the house is available (Wi-fi).
What do we expect from our volunteers:
Only non-smokers, no animals.
We expect nice and polite behaviour and willingness to do some work. Please count on becoming part of the family for the time of your stay!
We live in a very small village without many possibilities for distraction. If you come from a city, you should be able to appreciate the calm and the solitude.
We need help for 3-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week on a flexible schedule.
Because we are not a "big" place we prefer short-time (term) stays: weekend or one week, but we are open for other possibilities.
The village of Vèvrov is situated 6 km from Horsovsky Tyn and about 40 km from Pilzen towards the border of Germany.
There are bus connections to Horsovsky Tyn. From there we can take you home by car.

About the host

Hans Jürgen (64)

Host since



English, French, German, Spanish

Last seen online

more than 6 month ago

We are a married couple from Germany/Guatemala. We are interested in gardening, outdoor activities, reading and more. I (Hans Jürgen) am a cyclist, also traveling by bike. Guiselle likes cooking, baking and listening to music.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

Bathroom is shared. Wifi available.

  • shared meals

  • no money is involved

HOST 2 of 9