Back to Top

Crazy farm needs help with lots of things

World, Europe, Bulgaria, Stolat


Travel dates

°C, 02:11

About the workproject

We need 2 volunteers

We are an English couple retired, who moved to Bulgaria in late 2016. We did 10 yrs in South West Turkey as well.
Our home is off the beaten track. Stolat is a very small hamlet in North Central Bulgaria. We are on the edge of the Stara Planina Mountains. 520 meters above sea-level. Sevlievo is 30 minutes away / Gabrovo 45 minutes away. Veliko Tarnovo is 1 hour and15 minutes away.

We are on a hillside and have stunning views of the valley below and Sevlievo in the distance.

Our home is off the beaten track in the hills, so you will have plenty of time to explore the natural beauty of this stunning area. Our home is set in 9 acres of land. Woods, paddocks and orchards. ( Cherry, Plum, Apples, Pears, Quince, Mulbery and others )

We offer good home cooked food, good room with use of WiFi for connecting to facebook, emails etc.

In exchange for all meals and accommodation, we will ask you to help us 4 to 5 days, 4 to 5 hours per day.

This is what we want help on this year.

I am looking for someone to come and help me with the horses. Lots of riding so looking for a compitant rider.

Paint / Varnish- We have had a new stable block and barn constructed. Will need all the timber treating / spraying.
( use of power compressor to spray and hand pain small areas. )

Our home is being extended so will need a hand with the general work, also some painting work too.

Due to the building work that has been going on, we will need general help in the garden, weeding, pruning trees etc
Mending fences as we have 2 dogs who love to create holes in them.

Creating several covered shelters out of local wood for each of the turn out fields.

We have 3 stunning horses too. as well as dogs and cats.

Make post and rails to separated some of the fields and create tracks.

We will need help to clear some of the over grown fields and orchards. Remove weeds and take down some of the dead or dying trees / remove dead branches etc to make new pasture and turn outs for the horses.

Spring (July onwards ) Seasonal Fruit picking. Making Jam etc.

Picking walnuts and acrorns.


We would love help in the house : general cleaning and dusting of each room, cleaning of windows. etc Help with the cooking and general help in the kitchen.

We have 2 wonderful dogs :
Asha who is a mature female German shephard born 2011
Sindie a young female golden retriever x kangal . born 2014
Both love to be brushed and taken for walks and played with.
Also 3 fab cats as well.

We do have horses.
You may be asked to help remove the droppings from the orchard and field on occasions.

If you are a good / experienced horse rider then you can help ride out with us.

Come and spend time with us, help in the house, play with our 2 dogs and 3 adorable house cats.

Minimum stay 2 weeks max stay 3 months and over

We are happy to collect you from Sevlievo.

About the host


Christine (53)

Host since




Last seen online

I have run my own business, had horses all my life.

My husband and I left the UK Doncaster in 2007 and made Turkey / Fethiye our home until we moved to Bulgaria in Autumn of 2016.

We own 3 horses, 2 dogs and 3 cats.

We are both non smokers and don't drink alcohol.

Now retired.

Project dates

Open for offers, contact us

Work to be done

  • gardening
  • construction
  • farming
  • help in the house
  • maintenance tasks
  • animal care

Expected workhours

  • 5 hours a day
  • 5 days a week

Work exchange deal

  • private room

Own room within our main house.

Double bed.

  • shared meals

We provide
Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Tea, coffee and soft drinks

  • no money is involved

HOST 2 of 11